HAPPY!

IMG_2135The Dalai Lama said, “…the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. That is clear…we all are seeking something better in life. So, I think, the very motion of our life is towards happiness…” The Huffington Post states that the Dalai Lama declares that our happiness is created through our own actions. We must intentionally make choices that will bring us more happiness, and as a result our hearts will most certainly be healthier……..

Not long after my heart failure diagnosis, I realized the importance of positivity and happiness in my recovery process. I even spent some time reaching in to my memory and writing down incidents from my life that I remembered as being particularly happy. I guess I was searching. I had been told that happiness and contentment comes from a person’s soul but making that a reality for me was a work in progress.  I now realize that every day is a chance to wake up, know that the sun is rising, and rejoice. I try my best to make those intentional choices that bring me happiness and help keep my heart healthy.  I also believe that there are incidents in my everyday life that bring me happiness that I simply need to acknowledge…..you know…stop and smell the roses 🌹click here to find out how  Happiness is Good

The epitome of Happiness!

For me, this picture illustrates happiness….Now..I adore these three girls and was thrilled that they allowed me to throw them a family birthday celebration together..one is my daughter, one is my niece, and one is my great niece.  But that awesome “little” in the middle summed it all up when she made her wish as she blew out the candle…as only a 5 year old can “I wish everyone to have all of the hugs and I wish everyone to have a family”.   Go ahead and admit it…you know your heart is beating in a healthier manner simply from reading that Birthday wish! Just think about those of us that were there…heard it…and really acknowledged the power in those words, the smiles, hugs, and the overwhelming feeling of love and contentment in the room.

I believe that to be as healthy as possible one must make those intentional choices to be a part of ..your own tribe…your own people ….your own community.. and not just give the love, but accept the love that is offered, and most importantly feel the love for oneself!

Psalm 118:24. This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.


Leave a comment